Cricket Win

Rushey Mead Academy Cricket News








On Tuesday 15th June the PE faculty took a Year 9 team to compete in a semi-final cricket fixture against Uppingham School – one of the most prestigious schools in the country. RMA won the match comfortably – limiting Uppingham to 91 runs all out. We produced a mature and measured batting performance to comfortably beat their total with 2.5 overs to spare and only losing 2 wickets – one of which was a very unfortunate run out and it would have been 4 runs on any other given day. The Man of the Match was Prem – who hit 53 runs. Prem never looked like he would be dismissed and only lost his wicket as a result of a very unfortunate run out. Yug and Mohit deserve a special mention too. Yug took 4 wickets for 23 runs. Mohit was the skipper and he hit an unbeaten 16 and shared a 62 run partnership with Prem allowing Prem to score freely while he held his end down. He also bowled superbly, taking a wicket and 2 catches.

I just want to relay some context on the magnitude of the victory. Uppingham’s team coach, Charlie, informed us that Uppingham School have 25 members of staff who ONLY coach cricket (yes 25!!!). The Director of Cricket (yes, they have a job for this role) is a former player and an ex-coach at Leicestershire Cricket Club – the umpire on the day, who is also a coach, was an ex-Leicestershire player, Tom Ward. They offer lucrative scholarships for outstanding cricketers from across the country – yes country, not just Leicestershire! Uppingham’s cricket facilities are amazing – they have numerous indoor and outdoor nets.

To win the game was a truly magnificent achievement and the players and their coach (who is also a brilliant teacher) cannot be congratulated enough!

The team will play the winners of Oakham or Leicester Grammar School in the final and they will need to produce another high-level performance to beat either of the schools. We are very much looking forward to the final and the date and venue will be shared with everyone as soon as it is confirmed – we would like to have as many supporters as possible to cheer the team on in the final.

The players are listed below:

Prem Damani

Yug Mistry

Mohit Mirashi

Prashyam Dineshchandra

Aftab Arif

Shivam Pancholi

Ben Mugglestone

Nil Baria

Parth Damankar

Jatin Mavji

Coach: Sean Treacy

Translate »